SIGNED FIRST EDITION: That Self-Same Metal – Brittany N. Williams

£8.99

First edition, first print

Signed by the author

Published 4th January 2024

5 in stock

Description

Swashbuckling, romantic, and full of the sights and sounds of Shakespeare’s London, this sweeping YA fantasy trilogy debut is perfect for fans of Holly Black, Leigh Bardugo and J. Elle.

Joan touched her fingers to the blade, felt the metal sing to her. It whispered its secrets . . .

Sixteen-year-old Joan Sands is a gifted craftswoman and an exceptional swordsmith.

So skilled is her technique that she is one of very few women employed at the Globe Theatre, directing William Shakespeare and his troupe of actors in fierce scenes of combat. Of course, it helps that Joan is blessed with the power to control metal, thanks to Ogun, head deity of all Orishas.

But when a pact between the ancient Yoruba spirits and Fae is broken, only she can save the streets of London from peril. Joan must find a way to defeat them in battle by herself . . .

Okay, perhaps her twin brother James, blessed with gifts from Oya, can be of some help! And, despite the simmering tensions of a love triangle between herself, Rose, and Nick, Joan has a community of people to protect and who will protect her in return.

‘Perfect for anyone looking for a fresh take on faerie magic.’ Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Shadow Bone

‘A groundbreaking addition to the fantasy genre..’ Ayana Gray, New York Times-bestselling author Beasts of Prey

‘Every sentence will thunder through your bones.’ Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves and the Aru Shah series

‘Wildly imaginative and refreshingly diverse . . . taut with intrigue.’ J. Elle, New York Times bestselling author of Wings of Ebony

 

Additional information

Weight 1 kg